University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

ARCHIVE: UMHB Yearbook Wins Sweepstakes Award

April 10, 2012
2011 UMHB Yearbook
2011 UMHB Yearbook

Belton, Texas – The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor yearbook staff won numerous awards at the 103th Annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association's (TIPA) annual conference held in Corpus Christi, Texas. Senior co-editors Krystal Hawk and Anna Jauregui crafted the “Paint Your Own Picture” theme for the 2011 yearbook, which earned the First Place Sweepstakes Award for Overall Yearbook Excellence in Division 2.

The following is a list of yearbook awards presented during the Conference Awards Ceremony on Saturday, March 31. 

First Place awards included:

Overall Excellence – Bluebonnet Staff

Student Life Copy – JC Jones

Sports Copy – Halley Harrell

People Spread – Krystal Hawk, Anna Jauregui, Angela Sanchez

Organizations Package – Anna Jauregui, Angela Sanchez

Organizations Copy – Anna Jauregui

Opening Spread – Anna Jauregui, Mariana Jauregui, Angela Sanchez, Jasmine Knight

Academics Package – Angela Sanchez, Mariana Jauregui, Evan Duncan, Jasmine Knight

Academics Copy – Brittany Montgomery

Academics Photo – Jasmine Knight


Second Place awards included:

Title Page – Krystal Hawk, Anna Jauregui

Sports Package – Anna Jauregui, Andra Holbrooks, Jasmine Knight

Photo Story – Krystal Hawk, Angela Sanchez

People Spread – Krystal Hawk, Angela Sanchez

Organizations Copy – Anna Jauregui

Academics Copy – Artie Phillips


Third Place awards included:

Student Life Copy – Nicole Ballenger

Sports Copy – Brooke Morgan

Organizations Package – Michelle Joynes, Kirby Franze, Sarah Rank, Nicole Ballenger

Information Graphic – Krystal Hawk, Halley Harrell


Honorable Mention awards:

Sports Feature Photo – Anna Jauregui

Feature/Student Life Package – Jasmine Knight

Feature Photo – Angela Sanchez

Academics Package – Anna Jauregui, Brittany Montgomery, Angela Sanchez


TIPA is the oldest collegiate press association in the nation that recognizes excellence in student media. It has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country.