University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

ARCHIVE: The Bells Newspaper Wins Sweepstakes Award

April 20, 2012
The Bells staff in Corpus Christi for the TIPA Conference
The Bells staff in Corpus Christi for the TIPA Conference

Belton, Texas – The staff of the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor campus newspaper, The Bells, won 43 awards at the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) Conference in Fort Worth March 24 and the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) Conference in Corpus Christi March 31.

The Bells won the Sweepstakes award in its division at TIPA and was named by SPJ as number two in overall excellence among all nondaily collegiate newspapers in Texas and Oklahoma. Additionally, Bells staffers Brittany Montgomery, JC Jones and Evan Duncan’s series about the Texas wildfires took second place in the SPJ awards for general news reporting among all colleges and universities in Texas and Oklahoma.

The following is a list of awards presented during the TIPA Conference on Saturday, March 31. 

First Place awards included:

  • Sweepstakes – Bells Staff
  • News Story – Brittany Montgomery (Occupy Austin)
  • In-depth Reporting – Brittany Montgomery, Evan Duncan, Stacy Fannin (Series of stories on Texas secessionist organization)
  • News Photo – Kirby Franze (Texas secessionist rally on Austin capitol steps)
  • Feature Photo – Evan Duncan (Soldier with dog)
  • Picture Story – Brittany Montgomery (The Cru come home)
  • Single Subject Presentation – JC Jones (Presidential straw poll)
  • Photo Illustration – Brittany Montgomery, Evan Duncan (2010 in the rearview mirror)
  • Information Graphic – Evan Duncan (Presidential straw poll)

Second Place awards included:

  • Overall Excellence – Bells Staff
  • Feature Story – Brittany Montgomery (UMHB student Bible scholars study manuscript)
  • News Feature Story – Lauren Piercey (Missionaries reflect on revolutions)
  • General Column – Brittany Montgomery (covering the Texas wildfires)
  • News Photo – Evan Duncan (Home destroyed by Texas wildfire)
  • Page One Design – Brittany Montgomery (Sept. 20, 2011)
  • Sports Page Design – Brooke Morgan (Sept. 13, 2011)
  • Information Graphic – Evan Duncan (Presidential straw poll pie chart)
  • Illustration – Evan Duncan (Texas wildfire series logo)

The Bells staff won other awards in the areas of sports news story, sports feature story, editorial writing, headline writing, critical review, sports photography, feature page design, editorial cartoon, opinion page design, special section/edition, website navigation and Best of Show.

Individual staff members also placed in the TIPA onsite contests in radio news writing (Katelyn Holm), radio sports writing (Brooke Morgan), copy editing (Artie Phillips), TV advertising (Michael Murphy) and print advertising (Brittany Montgomery).

TIPA is the oldest collegiate press association in the nation that recognizes excellence in student media. It has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country.