University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

ARCHIVE: Tanner Clarke Crowned Mr. Crusader Knight

February 19, 2013
Tanner Clarke, Mr. Crusader Knight 2013
Tanner Clarke, Mr. Crusader Knight 2013

Belton, Texas – The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor presented the twentieth annual Crusader Knights contest Friday and Saturday, February 16 and 17. Tanner Clarke (Mr. Senior Class) of was named this year’s Mr. Crusader Knight.

There were 18 contestants in this year’s competition. Other finalists were: first runner up Braden Buchanan (Mr. Independence Village), second runner up Andrew Alvarez (Mr. Ultimate Cru), third runner up Karl Baker (Mr. Burt Hall) and fourth runner up Clint Brown (Mr. Stribling Hall).

Specialty awards were also given to a few of the competitors. Jayten Ames (Mr. First Year Council) was recognized by his competitors with the Timothy Award, which celebrates the contestant who is most Christ-like and uplifting. Collin Cavendish (Mr. Farris Hall) produced the Judges’ Choice Video. Braden Buchanan (Mr. Independence Village) produced the Campus Choice Video. Bryan Myers (Mr. Mclane Hall) was awarded Best Strut.

The Crusader Knights contest is organized and run by students. This year’s director was Jake Hans. His assistants were Nicki Ashley and Lauren Theodore.

Crusader Knights began in 1993 as a fundraiser led by and for the Senior Class. Men are selected by campus organizations to compete for the title of “Mr. Crusader Knight.” The men are judged on their unique video skit, group dance, individual walk and ability to answer interview questions. The winner is crowned and dubbed Mr. Crusader Knight by university president Randy O’Rear.